ROW80 Week #6 – Some Sacrifices Are Too Great

Don’t believe anyone who tells you that you should sacrifice whatever it takes to achieve your dream. It’s not true. Some sacrifices are too great.

In a post she wrote for Courage 2 Create, Jane Friedman (formerly of Writer’s Digest) wrote, “I warn against making big sacrifices when it comes to your everyday happiness because you think, once you reach your writing goals, you will finally be satisfied or fulfilled.”

As writers, we will need to make major sacrifices–and so will our spouses or children–but we need to know where to draw the line.

This is why I changed my ROW80 goal from editing a chapter a day to editing 7 chapters a week. Some days, something truly more important comes up. Tomorrow is a perfect example. My grandfather turned 83 today, and tomorrow we’re having a birthday dinner to celebrate. It means giving up the time I would have normally spent editing our WIP, but I don’t have any guarantee that he’ll have another birthday. That gives his birthday celebration precedence over my writing for the day.

Drawing these lines has actually helped me reach my goals. It gives me permission to take time off for the things that matter, and to give my goals a bigger range (e.g. a weekly goal rather than a daily goal). Which brings me to the point of this post. Even though I missed last week’s check-in, I have achieved my ROW80 goal this week and last week πŸ™‚

How are you all doing? For those of you who are participating and checking in, I’ll be trying to swing by as many of your blogs as possible in the next couple of days.

 

12 comments on “ROW80 Week #6 – Some Sacrifices Are Too Great

  1. I agree wholeheartedly. Writing is an important part of my life, an important part of who I am. It is, however, far from the most important thing.

    Thank you for your words of wisdom.

    Enjoy your grandfather’s birthday.

  2. Thanks for the much-needed reminder. I often ask myself, “How will my kids remember me?”. That question helps clarify what needs to come first that day, but I still feel the pull of the keyboard.

    • I think because we really love what we do we’ll always feel that pull. I actually ask myself something similar. I don’t have kids, but I’m a newlywed, and I think “What memories are my husband and I going to have when we’re looking back on our life together?” I want us to have great things to reminisce about.

      Marcy

  3. Completely agree. I think that is a great modification and I hope your grandfather has a fabulous birthday dinner. I feel the same way about my kids. Somedays when I know I should be writing but the sun is shining and the weather is perfect – i have to put my computer down and head to the park. Daughter is going to school next year so I only have a few months of having her around all the time – I can always write more next year!

  4. Great point! I ended up adjusting my goals to be more planning driven, since my story was going no where fast without structure. But when I get back to drafting, I think I’m going to take the weekly goal approach instead of daily for just this reason. Plus, I know with my lifestyle right now, I can crank out the words on the weekend but maybe not as much during the weekdays. Having a weekly goal would allow me to do that and not feel like I’m falling behind.

    And happy birthday to your grandfather!

  5. I hope you enjoyed your grandfather’s birthday party!! A very timely post as I chose to enjoy camping with my kids and didn’t get nearly as much writing as I wanted to get done. I am trying to be more realistic about my goals right now. I have to realize that writing is not my full time job (yet!) and so I have to split up my time accordingly. Hope that you have a great week. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

