ROW80 Week 2

Change, especially long-term change, doesn’t come easy.

The first day of my ROW80 challenge last week kicked off with the edit of 5 chapters on the novel Lisa and I are co-writing, well above my stated goal of one chapter per day. And then I crashed and burned. Real life got in the way. The following day, I needed to write almost 4,000 words for a client. I made the necessary work deadline, but by the time I finished, I couldn’t keep my eyes open and no amount of caffeine could help. And I didn’t edit a single chapter.

I’d love to tell you I made up for it the next day, but I didn’t. It wasn’t until the weekend that I caught up. But I did catch up, and I’m pushing forward.

So I guess here’s the lesson from this. If you miss a day, don’t use that as a reason to quit. You’re only defeated in your writing goals if you stop.

How did your first full week go? Success, failures, a little of both?

3 comments on “ROW80 Week 2

  1. I read over a critique of chapter one and the notes from Wendy Nelles’ workshop. That plus the GWP post on showing not telling gave me lots of ideas for the rewrite. Because there is a lot of work to do, I’m committing to two pages per day this week. That way, chapter one will be ready to send to my co-author by the weekend.

  2. I agree with Melanie–the only failure is quitting. And I see from your post that you’re not doing that at all.

    I had a bad week last week–I’d done a lot of research on an essay that I found out wasn’t going to fly 😦 I pouted about it for a while, but then got back into the groove. Now I have more ideas that I have to stick in an idea folder for later.

    Writing for clients is a surefire way to tire oneself out–I have to write for work, and it works that way for me.

    Here’s to a great week, where we can all learn from the stumbles and obstacles!

Leave a Reply

