A Round of Words in 80 Days

Confession time: How’s your New Year’s resolution going? Did you set unrealistic writing goals that you now see you have no hope of achieving? Or were you like me and set no resolutions at all because you knew you’d forget about them or give up on them before February even hit?

Yesterday I found out about ROW80, a new writing challenge that aims to help you set realistic goals. The whole point of ROW80 isn’t to write a novel in 30 days like NaNoWriMo (national novel writing month) because, let’s face it, most of us have other commitments. Perhaps super-humans can write a novel in a month, but I can’t.

ROW80 intends to help you set goals that will lead to lasting improvement and change.

So here’s my challenge to you–read Kait Nolan’s post explaining A Round of Words in 80 Days: The Writing Challenge that Knows You Haveย  a Life, and tell us your ROW80 goal. Mine is to edit at least one chapter a day on the work-in-progress I’m writing with Lisa. Not a huge goal, but I think it will help get me back on track. The writing I have to do to make money often gets in the way of the writing I really want to be doing.

If you don’t want to start late (Round 3 started yesterday), how many of you would be interested in participating in Round 4 (starting October 3, 2011)? I would love to see as many of us participate in Round 4 as possible and hold each other accountable. What do you think?

Marcy

14 comments on “A Round of Words in 80 Days

  1. You know, it’s not too late to join Round 3! Anyone can join on our check in days (every Wednesday and Sunday). I participated in round 2, am participating & sponsoring round 3, and I’m looking forward to all future rounds. I was extremely successful writing over 61K words in round 2 and I’m setting the goal of 7K/week for round 3 as of now…goals are always subject to change. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I finished 5 chapters last night, but they were on their seventh round of back and forth revisions between Lisa and I, so they were light. I figured only doing one of those would be following the letter of the challenge, but violating its spirit ๐Ÿ™‚ Today’s chapter will be more difficult to finish.

  2. I am so excited about this!! I knew, as I looked at my wip, that I wouldn’t be doing Nano this year. Nano is a wonderful exercise to get you started but it is not realistic to sustain. I hope to join round 3 of ROW80 but I’m not going to until I come back from vacation in Europe. I’m so excited I don’t think I will be able to get to sleep tonight–so many possibilities. ๐Ÿ™‚ Count me in for half of round 3 and hopefully round 4 as well. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I would love to be a part of the 4th challenge. Summer is always a bad time for me and goals the days seem to slip by with kids and canning and parks and BBQs etc. But October is great!

  4. I’m not sure that I’m going to officially join Round 3, but I’m going to use it as inspiration to schedule some of those writing projects I’ve been putting off. Who knows? As long as you remind us that Round 4 is approaching, I might get in on the fun then. Thanks much!

Leave a Reply

